Prohibited invasive plants

Prohibited invasive plants of Queensland





Blind cactus (Opuntia rufida)

Tropical soda apple (Solanum viarum)



Red witchweed (Striga asiatica)

The new Biosecurity Act

The *Biosecurity Act 2014* protects Queensland's economy, biodiversity and people's lifestyles from the threats posed by invasive pests and diseases.

Under the Act, certain species of invasive plants are listed as 'prohibited' matter.

Bitter weed (Helenium amarum)

Species not listed as prohibited may be listed as restricted matter under the Act or may be listed by a local government under local laws.

Australian legislation administered by the Australian Department of Agriculture also applies to the import of all plants into Australia.



What is prohibited matter?

Prohibited matter includes a range of invasive plants and other types of pests and diseases listed in the Act. These plants have the potential to have significant impacts and are currently not present or known to be present in Queensland.

It is an offence to deal with prohibited matter or fail to report its presence.

'Must not deal with' includes that a person must not do any of the following with prohibited invasive plants:

- keep or possess
- conduct experiments
- produce or manufacture
- breed
- propagate
- use
- grow, raise fee or culture
- distribute
- import
- transport
- dispose of
- buy, supply or use.

Reporting prohibited matter

All prohibited matter must be reported within 24 hours of being sighted to Biosecurity Queensland by calling **13 25 23**.

By law, everyone has a general biosecurity obligation (GBO) to take all reasonable and practical measures to minimise the biosecurity risk of the plant spreading until they receive advice from an authorised officer.

Prompt action will protect our valuable agricultural industries, natural resources and the environment.

Invasive plants that are prohibited matter

- Acacias non-indigenous to Australia (*Acaciella* spp., *Mariosousa* spp., *Senegalia* spp. and *Vachellia* spp. excluding *Vachellia nilotica* and *Vachellia farnesiana* which are restricted matter.
- anchored water hyacinth (*Eichhornia azurea*)
- annual thunbergia (Thunbergia annua)
- bitter weed (Helenium amarum)
- candleberry myrtle (Myrica faya)
- cholla cactus (*Cylindropuntia* spp. and their hybrids, other than *C. fulgida*, *C. imbricata*, *C. prolifera*, *C. rosea* (syn. *C. pallida*), *C. spinosior*, and *C. tunicata*)

- Christ's thorn (Ziziphus spina-christi)
- Eurasian water milfoil (Myriophyllum spicatum)
- fanwort (*Cabomba* spp. other than *C. caroliniana*)
- floating water chestnuts (*Trapa* spp.)
- harrisia cactus (*Harrisia* spp. syn. *Eriocereus* spp. other than *H. martinii*, *H. tortuosa* and *H. pomanensis* syn. *Cereus pomanensis*)
- honey locust (*Gleditsia* spp. other than *G. triacanthos*)
- horsetails (*Equisetum* spp.)
- karoo thorn (Vachellia karroo)
- kochia (Bassia scoparia syn. Kochia scoparia)
- lagarosiphon (*Lagarosiphon major*)
- mesquites (all *Prosopis* spp. and hybrids other than *P. glandulosa*, *P. pallida and P. velutina*)
- Mexican bean tree (all *Cecropia* spp. other than *C. pachystachya*, *C. palmata* and *C. peltata*)
- miconia (*Miconia* spp. other than *M. calvescens*, *M. cionotricha*, *M. nervosa* and *M. racemosa*)
- mikania vine (*Mikania* spp. other than *M. micrantha*)
- Peruvian primrose bush (Ludwigia peruviana)
- prickly pear (*Opuntia* spp. other than *O. aurantiaca*, *O. elata*, *O. ficus-indica*, *O. microdasys*,
 O. monacantha, *O. stricta*, *O. streptacantha* and
 O. tomentosa)
- red sesbania (Sesbania punicea)
- salvinia (Salvinia spp. other than S. molesta)
- serrated tussock (Nassella trichotoma)
- Siam weed (*Chromolaena* spp. other than *C. odorata* and *C. squalida*)
- spiked pepper (Piper aduncum)
- tropical soda apple (*Solanum viarum*)
- water soldiers (Stratiotes aloides)
- witch weeds (*Striga* spp. other than native species).

Further information

Further information is available from your local government office, or by contacting Biosecurity Queensland on 13 25 23 or visit biosecurity.qld.gov.au.



This fact sheet is developed with funding support from the Land Protection Fund.

Fact sheets are available from Department of Agriculture and Fisheries (DAF) service centres and our Customer Service Centre (telephone 13 25 23). Check our website at biosecurity.qld.gov.au to ensure you have the latest version of this fact sheet. The control methods referred to in this fact sheet should be used in accordance with the restrictions (federal and state legislation, and local government laws) directly or indirectly related to each control method. These restrictions may prevent the use of one or more of the methods referred to, depending on individual circumstances. While every care is taken to ensure the accuracy of this information, DAF does not invite reliance upon it, nor accept responsibility for any loss or damage caused by actions based on it.