Mayor & Councillors Mayor & Councillors

Council is made up of the Mayor and eight Councillors who are elected by the community every four years to represent the views of residents within the region. 

Under the Local Government Act 2009, it is the role of Councillors to determine strategic priorities through adoption of Council’s Corporate Plan, Operational Plans and Budget to ensure long term financial sustainability for the region.

Council is also required to develop and adopt policies to ensure consistency of decision making processes, which in turn provide Council officers with an approved method of dealing with matters of council business.

 

Name

Portfolio

Phone

Email

Mayor 

Tyson Golder

Register of Interest

  • Government Relations (Federal, State, Local)
  • Major Stakeholder Engagement (e.g. Industry, CSG)
  • Executive Management (in line with Council policies)
  • Disaster Management

0458 006 200

Tyson.golder@maranoa.qld.gov.au

Deputy Mayor

Jan Chambers

Register of Interest

  • Finance
  • Elected Member Services
  • Community Engagement (Information, Consultation, Participation)
  • Major Projects (e.g. Flood Mitigation)

0439 947 763 or 07 4623 1849

Jan.chambers@maranoa.qld.gov.au

Councillor

Robyn Bryant

Register of Interest

  • Planning & Building
  • Rural Services (Stock Routes, Wild Dogs, Pest Management)

0429 407 535

Robyn.bryant@maranoa.qld.gov.au

Councillor

Puddy Chandler

Register of Interest

  • Tourism & Arts
  • Community Safety

0429 545 324

Puddy.chandler@maranoa.qld.gov.au

Councillor

Peter Flynn


Register of Interest

  • Saleyards
  • Youth, Recreation & Sport

 

0417 626 672

Peter.flynn@maranoa.qld.gov.au

Councillor

Geoff McMullen

Register of Interest

  • Towns & Surrounds (Town Streets, Beautification, Parks, Gardens, Cemeteries, Footpaths)
  • Environment & Waste
0427 221 501 Geoffrey.mcmullen@maranoa.qld.gov.au 

Councillor 

Cameron O’Neil

Register of Interest

  • Facilities, Airports & Events
  • Economic Development & Advocacy

0429 956 379

Cameron.oneil@maranoa.qld.gov.au

Councillor

David Schefe

Register of Interest

  • Utilities (Water, Sewerage & Gas)
  • Geothermal Energy
  • Local Business

0419 895 078

David.schefe@maranoa.qld.gov.au

Councillor

Janelle Stanford

Register of Interest

  • Community & Social Services
  • Rural Roads & Grids

0429 081 616

Janelle.stanford@maranoa.qld.gov.au

Letters to the Mayor or Councillors can be addressed to PO Box 620, Roma Queensland, 4455 or fax messages can be sent to 07 4624 6990.